About Us

About Us

The Gertrude Stein Democratic Club is the voice of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Democrats in the District of Columbia. Established in 1976, Gertrude Stein is one of the oldest Democratic clubs in the District and is a founding chapter of the National Stonewall Democrats. The Gertrude Stein Democratic Club maintains active members in each of the 8 wards of the District of Columbia. Click here for the organization's by laws. And click here for the group's mission.


From left: Earl Fowlkes, Monika Nemeth, Kent Boese, Thomas Yabroff, and Jatarious Frazier

On November 18, 2019, the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club held its elections for its 2020 Board of Directors.  Our new leaders are:

Kent Boese, President

Kent Boese (pronounced /bās/, "BASE") has served on Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1A since January 2011 and as the Commission’s Chair since July 2013. He is also a member of the LGBTQ Rainbow Caucus which is a pan-District group of ANC Commissioners who collaborate on LGBTQ issues. In Kent’s decade of public service to the Columbia Heights, Park View, and Pleasant Plains neighborhoods, he has learned that balancing the needs of the community with the best interests of the entire District can be challenging. Kent was a candidate in the 2018 race for the Ward 1 Council seat where he garnered over 25% of the vote and carried his home precinct. He continues to advocate for equitable policies and solutions and frequently testifies before government boards and the Council of the District of Columbia.

Monika Nemeth, Vice President for Legislative Affairs

Jatarious Frazier, Vice President for Administration

Earl Fowlkes, Treasurer

Earl Fowlkes serves as the President/CEO of the Center For Black Equity, Inc. (formerly the International Federation of Black Pride -IFBP). He founded the IFBP in 1999 ago as a coalition of organizers the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and South Africa formed to promote a multinational network of Black LGBT Pride and community-based organizations. There are over forty plus Black Pride events around the globe with over 250,000 attendees each year. Prior to working at the Center For Black Equity, Earl previously served fifteen years as the Executive Director of the DC Comprehensive AIDS Resources and Education Consortium (DC CARE Consortium) and Damien Ministries, organizations that provided services to Person Living With HIV/AIDS in Washington, DC. Earl has worked on health, political and LGBTQ issues in many communities for nearly thirty years. Earl currently serves as Chair of the DC Commission on Human Rights, and was former chair of the DC Mayor’s GLBT Advisory Committee. Earl has always been politically active focusing on voter registration and getting out the vote activities particularly among communities of color and LGBT Democrats.  In 2009, he was appointed by then Virginia Governor Tim Kaine as an At-Large member of the Democratic National Committee (DNC).  In August 2013, Earl was reappointed, and elected Chair of the DNC LGBT Caucus.  In December 2014, he was elected President of the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club which is the second oldest LGBT Democratic Club in the United States Earl has received numerous honors and awards for his community service, and was named one of three 2013 Grand Marshalls of the Heritage of Pride (NYC Gay Pride) along with Harry Belafonte and Edith Windsor. In September 2014, Earl was given the 2014 Wanda Alston Democratic Service Award by the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club in Washington, DC.  Earl is considered an expert on LGBT and HIV/AIDS issues. He has written numerous articles and op-eds, and has appeared on the Roland Martin and Michael Baisden shows. Earl currently resides in Washington, DC.

Thomas Yabroff, Secretary